Art Journal Open is an online forum for the visual arts that presents artists’ projects, conversations and interviews, scholarly essays, and other forms of content from across the cultural field. Art Journal Open publishes original content by artists, scholars, teachers, archivists, curators, critics, and other cultural producers and commentators, with the commitment to foster new intellectual exchanges. Contributions focus on post-1945 material with an emphasis on the contemporary, although topics from throughout the twentieth century may be considered. As an online publication, Art Journal Open prioritizes material that makes meaningful use of the web, such as multimedia formats and techniques.

Initiated in 2011 as an open-access affiliate of Art Journal, Art Journal Open has been independently edited since 2014. Each quarter, select material from Art Journal is published in Art Journal Open.

Submit a Proposal to Art Journal Open

Prepare Your Accepted Manuscript for Publication